Day 1 – arrival in Sibiu by air
You will meet your guide at the airport, transfer to your Hotel Am Ring 3 * , downtown Sibiu.
Walking tour Sibiu downtown or time at your own.
Day 2 – Sibiu – Cisnadie – Cisnadioara- Sibiu
Visit Saxon Sibiu.
The Large Square is the historic center of Sibiu, first time mentioned in 1411. In 1538 the documents mention a fountain here, and in the 1550 the infamy pillar was erected, to be removed only in 1783.
The monuments to admire in The Large Square are…
The Brukenthal Palace is one of the most remarkable monuments in late baroque style in Romania, erected between 1778-1788 as an official residence for Samuel von Brukenthal.
The Blue House
The Haller House
The Small Square is the second largest historic place of Sibiu and one of the most beautiful squares in the town. This square is connected to the large Square through a series of narrow passages.
The Council Tower was built in the 13th century and is first mentioned in a document dated 1370.
The Liars Bridge
The first cast iron bridge in Romania was built in 1859 to connects the upper town to the lower town.
The Arts House is one of the most beautiful buildings in Sibiu and one of city’s symbols. It is founded on the site of the Old Butcher’s house built in 14th century and designed for shops, It dominates the square with its silhouette with eight arches at the ground floor.
The Huet Square is surrounded by historic buildings built in Gothic style, the square being dominated by the Evangelic Cathedral. Before the steps on the right-hand side is a 17th century courtyard of private houses that is untouched by the 20th century.
The Stairs Tower
The tower, one of the oldest building in Sibiu, dates from 1542 with some changes from 1863.
The Evangelical Church built in 1520 on the place of an old Roman basilica from the 12th century. A gigantic fresco (over 9m high), painted in 1445, covers much of the north wall of the chancellery.
The Catholic Church built between 1726 and 1733 in a baroque style with classic decorations.
Depart to Cisnadie
Cisnadie was founded by the Saxon colonists, called in the country by king Geza II of Hungary (1141-1161) in order to defend the borders of the country. Heltau is mentioned for the first time in a document in 1323. In 1425 in Cisnadie was built the first clock tour in Transilvania. The village citadel and the Evangelist Church of Cisnadie (having as a patron Saint Walpurga) were built at the beginning of the 13th century.
Visit the Cisnadie Evanghelical Church, built at the beginning of 13 century as a Roman basilica, under the Saint Walpurga sign. A bell, kept in the church, was cast in bronze in 1664. There is also a gothic font and old gates in the Baroque style.
Depart to Cisnadioara , visit the Cisnadioara Evanghelical Church.
The Evangelical Church of Cisnadioara, built in 1764 in the Baroque style, is situated in the center of the village and it connects to its main street. In the North of the church’s yard there is a monument dedicated to the soldiers who died during the First World War and a fountain. The monument was built on the site of an old Gothic style church from which the tour has been preserved. The new Evangelical Church was finished in 1764 in the Baroque style.
The church shelters the oldest tubular organ in Transylvania that is still in use. The oldest organ of Transylvania is in fact at the Evangelical Church, but it is not in use anymore. The musical instrument has been restored and modernized and it is supplied with air through an electrical ventilation system.
The Peasant Citadel with Basilica Saint Michael
The Fortified Church Saint Michael, called “the citadel” by the locals, is the source of the German name of the area – Michelsberg. It is situated on the top of a stony hill which borders the South of the village on a very narrow plateau. The monument has the shape of a short basilica, has three naves, is fortified and is a one of the oldest and most representative of its kind in Transylvania.
Back to Sibiu , overnight at our hotel Am Ring 3 * .
DAY 3-Sibiu – Apoldu de Sus-Sebes- Jidvei – Valea Viilor Medias
Visit the beautiful Evangelical Church from Apoldu De Sus Grosspold
In 1734 from the lands occupied by the Hapsburg House, Protestants that had converted to the Lutheran church were deported in Transylvania. The deportation of over 800 persons, of which 200 were from Carintia, was hidden under the name “Transmigration”. The deported settled in three villages near Sibiu and are known as “Landlers”, giving the name of the settlement area – “Landlersiedlung”.
The city was founded in the 12th century by Saxon colonists. People from The Rhine and Moselei (today’s Luxembourg and West German areas) settled in Sebes. The Saxon Sebes was one of the most important cities of medieval Transylvania and became one of the seven citadels that gave the name of the province – “Siebenburgen”
The construction of the Evangelical Church of Sebes began before 1241 and was finished in 1382. The church represents an interesting mixture of the Gothic and Roman styles. The alter is decorated with relief paintings and sculptures made during 1518- 1528.
Arrival in Jidvei – Seiden
Visit the Evanghelical Church and have a tasting wine at the beautiful Castle Bethlen – Haller.
The Evangelical Church is situated in the center of the village. Specialists claim that it takes the form of a Roman basilica with three naves or the form of a church hall in Gothic style from the 15th century. It suffered significant transformations during the 18th century when the Baroque style took hold. “The Saxon’s church” is dedicated to saint Cecilia of Jidvei and it has a wooden altar painted in the Classical style, which replaced a pre-existing altar.
Tasting wine and lunch at the Bethlen – Haller Castle.
The Bethlen-Haller Castle was built in the 16th century in the French Renaissance style and restored in the 17th-18th centuries in the Baroque style.
Visit the Valea Viilor – Wurmloch – Church , UNESCO heritage from 1999.
The present-day Gothic church, built in the 14th century, is dedicated to the Virgin Mary. The church is characterized by Late-Gothic elements from around 1500.
Arrival in the evening in Mediasch , overnight in Medias , Hotel Traube 4 *
DAY 4 – MEDIAS – BIERTAN- MALANCRAV- SIGHISOARA
Visit Medias – Medwish
The first mention of the city in a document was in 1267 under the name “Mediesy”. The name is connected to a Saxon tribe from the IX century. During the XII and XIII centuries, the king of Hungary settled Saxon colonists in the area of Medias.
Medias is a picturesque city where one can feel the mixture between old and new and can view alternate architectural styles, from Gothic to Renaissance and Neoclassical, from Baroque to Jugendstil. “Civitas Mediensis” has preserved its historical past through its 17 tours and bastions.
The fortified church Saint Margaret contains a valuable ensemble of Gothic mural paintings, and the tour has a clock that shows the Lunar phases. The church is also famous because here Vlad the Impaler was once detained in 1476, after a conflict with Matei Corvin, the king of Hungary. In addition, Transylvania’s king Stefan Bathory was elected as king of Poland here.
This Gothic fortified church is still the city’s most appealing sight with its own defense walls and towers. Built in Gothic style in 1488, with time it went through different modifications. Its pipe-organ, from 1755, is appropriate for symphony concerts. While these concerts last the church benches are turned to face the pipe-organ.
The historical center of Medias is an open air museum. The medieval monuments from the Castle’s square are unique in Transylvania. The city is over seven centuries old – thus being one of the oldest cities of the country. Some of the main places of tourist interest are: the Tailor’s Tour, The Trumpets Tour, The Bells’ Tour, Schuller House (1588), Forkesch Tour, The Stone Cutters Tour, The Blacksmiths’ Tour, the Franciscan architectural complex and monastery, built in 1444 by the Franciscan order.
In the novel “Dracula”, Bram Stoker mentions that at the wedding of the Valachian count the “golden colored wine of Medias was drunk”. Medias and its surroundings are famous for its wines, namely the wines of Tarnave, is also known as “Weinland” – “The Wine’s Land”, as it appears on Johannes Honterus’s old map, made in the XVI century.
Departure to Biertan.
Visit the Biertan Fortified Church
The architectonic ensemble from Biertan impresses through its harmonious integration to locality, by its aesthetic and historic value and especially by the original substance preserved since the end of the 15th century and the beginning of the 16th century, characteristics which determined its inclusion on The UNESCO List of World Patrimony.
The ecclesiastic and defense complex was built in 15th-16th centuries in the late Gothic style,with specific Renaissance elements.
For 300 years Biertan was chosen as the residence of the Evangelical Diocese (1572-1867)
The pews were made between 1514-1523 by Reychmut from Sighisoara and are one of the most valuable pews of this kind from Transylvania. Unique in its way, the door of the vestry built in 1515, is remarkable for its locking system. As a result of the earthquake in 1977 , restoration and consolidation works of the arches were completed.
Departure to Malancrav
Among the Medieval monuments in Transylvania , the Saxon Romanesque Lutheran Church in Malancrav is one of the most beautiful Saxon monuments from Transylvania , famous for its interior decoration. The church was built in the first half of the 14th century The sanctuary was rebuilt in international Gothic style around 1400.
The real treasure of Malancrav is the mural painting, one of the best preserved of 14th century Gothic painting. Most of the frescoes are on the north wall of the main nave and were painted around 1350. The painting of the choir was done later, after its reconstruction in the 1400s. The 53 scenes are ordered on five tiers and embody a synthesis of redemption, based on the Old and the New Testament.
Arrival in the evening in Sighisoara , overnight at The Wagner ‘s House: 3 *
DAY 5 – SIGHISOARA- VISCRI- HARMAN – PREJMER – BRASOV
Visit medieval Sighisoara , the only inhabited citadel still in existence.
The center of medieval city Sighisoara is part of the UNESCO worldwide patrimony. The city was founded by Saxon colonists, called Francons, that came from the North Rhine area, who were invited to settle in Transylvania by King Geza II of Hungary in order to defend the Eastern borders. In this historical period the German ethnics were called Saxons, but in fact these Transylvanian Saxons have no connection with the Saxons of Northeast or Southeast of Germany.
Segesvar, Sighiaoara and Schaessburg, with its castle wall featuring 10 watch-towers, multicultural inhabitants who can live together in harmony. In the past the Hungarian kingdom took here the Saxons to protect its borders. The living conditions give secure establishment not only for the Saxons, but for the Romanians, Hungarians, Jews and Gypsies, who have been an example of peaceful cohabitation since then.
Visit the Evangelical Church – The Church on the Hill
The Evangelic church of Deal (Bergkirche) is the most famous architectural monument of Sighisoara and was built in several phases during 1345 – 1525.
The present interior style was achieved following the restoration works in 1934, when the frescoes dating back from 1776 were discovered. In the interior of the church there are Gothic and Renaissance mural paintings (XIV – XVI century), a series of funeral monuments (XVI – XVII century), stone sculptures, a Gothic tabernacle (XV – XVI), a font (XV century) and a font (XV century), as well as medieval furniture (XV – XVI) and a Gothic poly-triptych altar dedicated to Saint Martin.
During the XX century, following the mass emigration of the Saxon community of Sighisoara, the church lost its religious function, which resulted into a slow and constant degradation of the walls and the roof.
In 2004, the project of restoration of the church won one of the five European Union prizes for Cultural Heritage. The church was declared a Museum of Saxon art and serves also as Romanian-Saxon Cultural Center.
Visit the Viscri Citadel
Viscri is set aside from the road that connects Brasov and Sighisoara and is shelter to one of the most spectacular Saxon fortified churches, one of the six churches declared as part of the UNESCO patrimony.
In Viscri is well preserved one of the most picturesque and, despite its reduced size, most monumental Saxon citadels, which contains within its walls one of the few Roman churches in the form of a hall, dating from XIII century.
In 1970 – 1971 the citadel was restored. Its eastern defense corridor was rebuilt and since 1990 has been part of the UNESCO worldwide patrimony.
Meeting the guide of the Viscri Citadel ; Mrs. Sara Dootz
Visit the Harman Citadel
The Harman fortress is located 8 km north-east of Brasov. It dates back to the 13th century when the Saxons built the original church in a Romanesque style which was restored in a Gothic style.
Visit the Prejmer Citadel
Prejmer -Tartlau is located 18 km northeast of Brasov. Prejmer Fortress (15th century) – is the best-preserved peasant fortress of Transylvania, included in the UNESCO patrimony.
Arrival in Brasov, overnight at the Hotel Gott 3 *
DAY 6 -BRASOV – SINAIA- AZUGA- BRAN – BRASOV
After breakfast we shall visit the town of Brasov, which, according to documents dating from 1234 was once called Corona. During the second half of the 14th century it was confirmed as the administrative and ecclesiastic center of Barsei Land , ‘the free royal town’, and one of the economic and cultural centers of Transylvania.
The old center contains The Council Square, the imposing Black Church, The Council House, Merchant’s House, Brasov’s Fortress, Schei Gate, Ecaterina Gate of 1540, and The Rope Street, the narrowest street in Europe.
These are only a few of the attractions of this town which is always full of life.
Departure to Sinaia .
Peles Palace is one of the best-preserved royal palaces in Europe and one of the most beautiful castles in all Europe. It was the final resting place for several Romanian monarchs including King Carol I, who died here in 1914.
The building of the castle began in 1873 under the direct order of the Viennese architect Wilhem Doderer and was continued in 1876 by his assistant. During 1877-1879, because of the war, they abandoned work. The location for the castle was chosen by the German Prince Carol I Hohenzollern, who was to become a king and it draws its name from the neighboring brooks which pass through the courtyard.
The castle was built in wood, stone, bricks and marble and comprises more than 160 rooms. The representative style used is German Renaissance, but one can easily discover elements belonging to the Italian Renaissance, Gothic, German Baroque and French Rococo style.
After seeing these precious and unique jewels we shall stop in Azuga, where Medieval Tours invites you to taste sparkling wines and have a welcome lunch in a special place – the Halewood Wine Cellars.
Sparkling wine has been produced in Azuga since 1892, when a German merchant established Rhein & Cie. This location was chosen for its climactic conditions and proximity to the vineyards. The foaming wines ferment by a special process of sitting on racks deep inside the old Rhein wine cellars, which still exist today as they did when the company was established.
We arrive at the famous Bran Castle situated in an old village of the same name. Bran Castle is considered as the home of Dracula, in so far as Vlad Tepes the original Romanian Prince who inspired the legend, once lived there. Bram Stoker, the author of the book, was also inspired by this castle and the Transylvanian lands and villages surrounding it.
The first document regarding Bran Castle is a paper issued on November 19, 1377 by Ludwig I d’Anjou, by which Brasov inhabitants received the privilege of building the Fortress ‘at their own work and expense’
Between 1920-1927 Bran Castle was restored under the leadership of Karel Liman, the Architect of the Royal Court, who transformed it into a beautiful Summer Residence surrounded by a park with promenade alleys, lake, fountains, arbors, and a tea house. In 1938 Queen Maria bequeathed Bran Castle with all its domains, to her daughter, Princess Ileana, who owned it until 1948.
Dracula’s Legend-The famous legend of Dracula is largely due to the book written by Bram Stoker, which, has since inspired countless films and stage productions. Stoker, himself, for inspiration, relied on the historical image of the Romanian prince Vlad Tepes, who ruled between 1456 and 1462. Perhaps more than anything else, the mythological character Dracula is known for his deeply evil nature. His favored weapons were his sharp fangs, and it is no coincidence that impalement, one of the most terrifying manners of dying, was always the torture method the original Prince Dracula preferred; that is where his name, (Vlad Tepes = Vlad the Impaler) emanates.
The cruelty of his punishment for the lack of loyalty and honesty coincides with his name. In Romanian it means “the devil”. In 1431 the Saint Roman Emperor Sigismund of Luxemburg granted Dracula’s father, Vlad II, the Dragon order, a chivalrous order, for fights against the Turks. The emblem of the order was a dragon, symbol of the devil. The legend and the true story of Dracula meet and are kept alive by other Romanian tourist destinations; Snagov Monastery close to Bucharest or Bran Castle, close to Brasov.
Back to Brasov, overnight at the Hotel Gott 3 *
DAY 7 – BRASOV – CARTA – SIBIU
The Black Church has a turbulent history: built between 1385 and 1477 on the site of an earlier church (destroyed by Mongol invasions in 1242), the construction of the Marienkirche was hampered by extensive damage caused by Turkish raids in 1421. The church was given its new name after disaster struck again in 1689, when the ‘Great Fire, set by Hapsburg invaders, leveled most of the town, heavily damaged the church, blackening its walls. Restoration took almost 100 years.. The year 1477 is written in Gothic letters on the front gate, the only piece made in wood that resisted the fire. The original Gothic interior has suffered under the restorations, and the lofty, light space you see nowadays is mostly Baroque. Most of the objects inside the church date from the reconstruction time except for the baptismal font which was cast in bronze by a local craftsman in 1450.
The Black Church exhibits the heaviest mobile bell in Romania (6 tonnes), murals in the Italian Renaissance style and an organ, with 4,000 pipes, 7 scales and 4 key boards. It was built in 1838-1839 by the organ creator Buchholz from Berlin and it ranks among the biggest organs in the South-Eastern Europe. It is the only organ of the Buchholz’s firm which has preserved its original form. The organ recitals held here are very famous and many tourists attend them.
Departure to Carta
Visit the Carta Cistercian Abbey
Carta is situated on the left side of Olt river, between Sibiu and Fagaras. It is an old Cistercian monastery from Fagaras Land, serves at present as an Evangelic church for the local Germanic community.
The monastery was founded in 1205 – 1206 by king Andrew II of Hungary and it was defounded on the 27th of February 1474 by king Matei Corvin. The Cistercian abbey played a major role in the political, economical and cultural history of medieval Transylvania, as well as in the introduction of the Gothic style to Transylvania.
Meeting the Priest of the Church .
Departure to Sibiu . Acomodation in Sibiu , Hotel Am Ring 3 *
DAY 8 – transfer to the airport , end of the tour
Upon request the tour can be extended with :
Upon request , the tour can be done shorter or longer , we can include in the tour more saxon Citadels from Transylvania .
Upon request , we can offer a traditional Saxon lunch in a Saxon village .